Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
As the name implies, stormwater is water from a storm (rain, melting snow, or ice). Stormwater runoff is stormwater that does not soak into the ground, but flows across outdoor surfaces like roads, sidewalks, lawns, driveways and parking lots, and drains into water bodies. Unlike water used within homes and businesses which flows to a water treatment plant, stormwater runoff is not treated and flows directly to rivers, streams, and oceans.
While traveling to water bodies, stormwater runoff can pick up a variety of substances which then pollutes these bodies of water. These substances can include:
This is known as “Stormwater Pollution.” The best way to keep water clean is to keep pollutants off the ground and out of the path of stormwater runoff, so that only clean water enters the water bodies.
Couples wishing to register for a domestic partnership affidavit must be of the same-sex or opposite-sex age 62 or older and meet the following requirements of the Domestic Partnership Act. The affidavit must be completed and signed by both applicants at the office of the municipality in which you apply. The affidavit will be notarized at that time.
If the address is outside New Jersey, one of the applicants must provide proof of belonging to the State Administrative Retirement System of New Jersey presenting one of the following documents issued by the Division of Pensions and Benefits.
All applicants must present valid identification that establishes their name, age, date of birth and address. Examples of documents that you may show:
Additional data to seek an affidavit of domestic partnership:
The domestic partnership requires a non-refundable payment of $28 when applying for the license.
Appointments for domestic partnership affidavit are required. Call the Registrar at 973-515-6667 to schedule an appointment.
The following persons are authorized to obtain a certified copy of a record. Proof of relationship to the person named on the record is required.
Apply in person or send your written request to:RegistrarTownship of Hanover1000 Route 10Whippany, NJ 07981
Our office hours are:
If you send your application by mail, please provide the following information or print a copy here and complete the Domestic Partnership section.
The cost for a certified copy is $25 per copy and $2 each additional copy.
Notify Me is a HanoverTownship.com tool which allows you to subscribe to email and/or text message notifications when content is added to or updated on our website from the Calendar, News Flash, Job Postings and Alert Center modules.
The Emergency Notifications link brings you to a Smart 9-1-1 registration page called the "Hanover Township, NJ Community Opt-In Portal." (If you do not see this heading, please email us so that we can direct you to the correct link.)
When you sign-up, you will begin to receive emergency notifications from the Hanover Township Police in conjunction with the Office of Emergency Management (OEM) and Morris County. This notification service is called RAVE Mobile Safety System or Alert Hanover.
Using both notification systems will ensure that you get all the notifications you need about Hanover Township.
Water is billed through a private company, the Southeast Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority(SMCMUA). They can be reached at 973-326-6880 or through the SMCMUA website.
Yes, you can. This website is fully optimized for mobile.
You MAY have to refresh the site for it to revert to the mobile-friendly version.
Please visit the Staff Directory to find all department and staff contact information or you can email us and we will forward your message to the appropriate individual.
Home Page banner
Interior Page banner:
If you are interested in submitting your own photos please use this form.
For use in the banner, photos must be at least 2200x649 pixels.
The marriage or civil union license must be obtained from the registrar in the New Jersey municipality in which either applicant resides, if one or both is resident of New Jersey. (For these purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts at which they are stationed.) A license issued under the preceding circumstances is good for use anywhere in the State of New Jersey.
If both parties are not residents of New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar of the municipality where the ceremony is to be performed and is only good for use in that municipality.
A New Jersey marriage or civil union license may never be used outside of the State of New Jersey and a license issued in another state may never be used within the State of New Jersey.
Be sure to contact the Registrar well in advance of the ceremony to find out on what days and during what hours the Registrar will be in the office. The marriage or civil union license fee is $28.
Hereby authorized to solemnize marriages or civil unions between such persons as may lawfully enter into the matrimonial relation or civil union; and every religious society, institution or organization in this State may join together in marriage or civil union such persons according to the rules and customs of the society, institution or organization (Title 37:1-13):
A local Registrar will not issue a marriage or civil union license sooner than 72 hours after the application for a license has been made, unless ordered to do so via a Superior Court order.
The application must be completed by both parties before the license will be issued. The application is valid for six months from the date filed.
Once the license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date of issuance. A couple wishing to have both religious and civil ceremonies may be issued a license for both ceremonies on the basis of a single application. However, a couple wishing to have two religious ceremonies, and wanting to have a public record of each, may not have two licenses issued at the same time. They must apply for and use the first license. They must then return to the Registrar with the signed original certificate and a witness to apply for a remarriage or reaffirmation of civil union license.
Required documents when applying for a marriage license:
Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
(These documents are helpful but not required)
Each applicant must supply valid identification that establishes name, age, date of birth and proof of residency. This may be supplied by one or more documents issued by a government agency, such as a certified copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, military identification, passport or state/county identification card.
The person performing the ceremony must file the license and certificate with the Registrar of the municipality in which the ceremony was performed. Since failure to record the certificate may cause considerable inconvenience at a later date when proof of certificate is needed, you should make sure that this has been done.
Certified copies of the marriage or civil union event may be obtained from the local Registrar in the municipality where the ceremony occurred or from the State Bureau of Vital Statistics and Registration.